Stickfiguratively Speaking-Sleepy Hollow

And finally–We are have the beginnings of the next in the Stickfiguratively Speaking series. THE LEGEND OF SLEEPY HOLLOW! I’m not gonna post too many here–just a glimpse. But I am gonna do a Timothy Decker(ish) blog post and be very verbose.

The Title page as it stands now. I’ll need to do a bit more inking on this piece before I consider it finished. Also, the layout of the type will most likely change(as I am not designing this book–just drawing and writing the occasional bit).

So how am I making these illustrations, you ask? They are all pen and ink on bristol. All about 10″x20″ so they have become a bit of a monster in my life…lots of inky evenings and sleepless, inky nights. Closely followed by inky mornings.

Then comes the part that is not so fun…but much less inky. The images are scanned and then I take them into photoshop to block out the background black areas. My current idea is to at least have every section where the Headless Horseman is illustrated to be a night scene like these. Also, keep in mind that these images are not displayed in order–so the if you’re reading the words, it probably won’t make sense.

This is an example of a daytime scene. That lanky schoolmaster from Connecticut, lurching through a cornfield reading the books of Cotton Mather. I think that reading Mather was basically his version of watching a horror film by yourself. You do it because you kind of want to have that feeling in the back of your mind that everything you just saw could possibly be real. This is Ichabod Crane–a superstitions man living in a VERY superstitious time.

I just like how this one came out.

Lastly for today’s post–Many thanks to Rob at Washington Irving’s Sunnyside estate in Sleepy Hollow(or Irvington or Tarrytown) for providing me with reference pictures and letting me romp around the grounds taking pictures this past summer. It really allowed me to keep my head…heh.

3 Responses to “Stickfiguratively Speaking-Sleepy Hollow”

  1. Marie Says:

    Love these! I saw your book Alice’s Adentures in Wonderland on Amazon when it was avalible for pre-order. I haven’t acquired a copy yet, but I’m working on it! I may ask for it for my birthday along with a million other books! LOL! Are you going to be illustrating “Through the Looking Glass, and What Alice Found There” in the Stickfiguratively Speaking series? I also have suggestion. You should illustrate “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz” in your Stickfiguratively Speaking style. Please give answers and thoughts.

    • odone401 Says:

      Many thanks for the enthusiasm about the series. I’m not sure what stories I’ll be doing in the future but I’ll be sure to add those to the short list;)
      best,
      jamison

      • Marie Says:

        Thank you for replying and adding the titles to that lil’ ol’ list of yours! It would be so interesting to see you draw Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum, Humpty Dumpty, and let’s not forget The Wonderful Wizard of Oz! If you need help for classics to re-do I’m your go to person. You’ve even inspired me to do stick figureish drawings for Alice. If you do illustrate any of these 2 please let me know.
        Your Fan,
        Marie

Leave a Reply

